Vegan Bodybuilding Forum

The Forum of www.veganbodybuilding.org

HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister  Log in  
This board is closing down - we are moving to a new permanent home at http://www.veganbodybuilding.org/forum/

Share | 

Magnesium Stearates

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
PhysCultureFan

PostSubject: Magnesium Stearates   Mon Apr 19, 2010 10:15 am

I am a nutrition novice but I'm a bit bummed to read this morning to watch out for Magnesium Stearate, however, let's make sure it's clear this is new info to me, I don't know how serious this is. The verdict is still out.

This writer said sometimes Magnesium Stearate is added to "veggie powders" for "clumping". I've got some Garden of Life Perfect food and sure enough it is in there.

On the other hand, sometimes people push their own agenda and what they are selling.

The topic is open for feedback.

"These stearates, made by hydrogenating cottonseed or palm oil, are used throughout the supplements industry as lubricants. They are added to the raw materials in supplements so that production machinery will run at maximum speeds. These fatty substances coat every particle of the nutrients, so the particles will flow rapidly. This ensures that production schedules will meet profit targets."

http://www.drrons.com/beware-of-additives-in-supplements.htm

Just another thing to run by the forum of which I hope I'm not taxing it's attention as we are all busy but this struck me.

Kind of a downer though, I will say that. I'll consider it in ingredients.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
PhysCultureFan

PostSubject: Re: Magnesium Stearates   Mon Apr 19, 2010 12:04 pm

http://forums2.gardenweb.com/forums/load/herbal/msg0419240511091.html

Sorry for sounding alarmist in this, Shocked