Vegan Bodybuilding Forum

The Forum of www.veganbodybuilding.org

HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister  Log in  
This board is closing down - we are moving to a new permanent home at http://www.veganbodybuilding.org/forum/

Share | 

New member here from England

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Randal

PostSubject: New member here from England   Mon Mar 22, 2010 5:42 pm

Hello everyone,

I've just found this forum and decided to join. I'm a male in my late 20s, have been vegan for a few years now (made the shift after being veggie) and want to get in shape after letting myself go over the last few years. I'm a beginner to all this stuff and am mainly looking for advice around diet and training as I am very much a newbie when it comes to this stuff. I recently bought a dumbell set and a chin up bar. I'd ideally like to build a decent chest and arms and get a toned stomach, although I'm not looking to be a bodybuilder. My ultimate physique is probably somewhere along the lines of Mac Danzig's.

Anyway, just checking in and saying hi!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pete
Admin

PostSubject: Re: New member here from England   Tue Mar 23, 2010 3:23 am

I know this sounds totally counter to your aims, but I'd focus a lot at the start of building your back & legs! All your everyday function comes from those & all your power. MMA guys spend a lot of time building those areas as those are where the power comes from when you fight. I'm not saying ignore the T-shirt muscles, but at least at first work hardest on the muscles you can't see so well in the mirror.
You should be able to sort a decent routine with chin-up bars & a pair of dumbbells. To be honest the 'toned' stomach is more about diet than exercise, you just have to lower the fat covering the stomach, some ab work will help build the abs up so they pop out, but mainly it's diet.